Yes Maam, My Autistic Son Does Act A Little Bit Erratic-Like

CHILDRENS AID SOCIETY A PERFECT WEAPON FOR HARRASSEMENT…ALMOST AS EFFECTIVE AS THE CHRC OR OHRC
Oh joy oh bliss!
And yesterday a representative from the local CAS showed up at my door after receiving an “anonymous”(unbased) complaint that my Autistic son acts…erratic,(which as a matter of fact he does because well folks…he’s got Autism and that explains it all) and the CAS wondered if my political involvement with the Marijuana Party might have something to do with it and cautioned me against excersizing my fundmental political rights in the future as they may impede on my ability to keep my autistic son in my home.
Of course, as I pointed out the complaint was unbased and anonymous…meaning anyone can call up the CAS and attack you without there being a defence against this type of personal family attack, and the CAS has a duty to investigate.
So I wonder, how much money is spent harrassing the shit out of people for no good reasons, and although I fully understand that government needs to balance the rights of parents against the protection of children in some fashion but when the evidence is obvious(as it is in my case)that the parents are good and decent, the issue should go no further than that, if it goes that far at all.
So, the perfect tool to get back at someone that you do not like that has children is for you to call the CAS, make an anonymous tip (say they are on meth or crack or something) and guaranteed the attack dogs will be there at their throat. Definitely a perfect tool for harassement.
I take it as a personal attack that anyone would question my parenting skills or my ability to care for my extraordinary high needs son. In fact, I would duel whomever to the death over this matter. No shit about it.
And anyone who has ever met me would agree with this following statement that I would cut my arms and legs off for my son if I knew it would save his shattered life.
4 Comments

  1. Anonymous
    Posted May 1, 2009 at 12:57 pm | Permalink

    You’d almost think it was a “political” move wouldn’t you. Why the political part?

    This smells funny to me.

    My girlfriend (who lives down the street) has an autistic son and we all understand and keep an eye out for him. He, for some reasons, just loves my husband and has tried to take his bike up to our house to find him. I call my girlfriend to let her know and I take him back. This is no problem, but if a weird stranger were around…well. We try to get through to him that my husband will come down to see him whenever he wants.

    RuralSandi

  2. Anonymous
    Posted May 1, 2009 at 4:10 pm | Permalink

    If, in fact, a representative of the CAS implied that your politics might cause them to remove your son from your custody you should be talking to a lawyer. Somebody has stepped over the line.

  3. Joseph
    Posted May 1, 2009 at 5:39 pm | Permalink

    I’m not one to normally advocate this kind of reaction, but in your case I really do think you should lodge some form of complaint or go public if the agency actually suggested your political involvement might be “affecting your parental skills.”

    Someone – or some agency – has indeed crossed the lines when that kind of not-so-subtle intimidation is put forth. Adding insult to the situation is that the mildest bit of examination would reveal the medical condition of your son, but that really is far secondary to the primary issue.

    Perhaps it was just the act of an over-zealous and rather uncouth individual, but even if so the agency needs to reign in that type of behaviour.

    Something stinks heavily in this situation.

  4. Anonymous
    Posted May 12, 2009 at 12:29 pm | Permalink

    Definately do something about it. Autism is a condition not widely understood and we all get the looks and garbage talk. Your sons life is not shattered its blessed to have a mom and dad like you and your wife.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

