Scrappage Program?

THIS IS A DUMB IDEA…AND PROVIDES ONLY A TEMPORARY RELIEF

 Officials at Canadas’ automakers and their respective unions are calling on you and me to offer $3500.00 to people that wish to trade in their own old used vehicles on a new more fuel efficient vehicle.
 The big three think that we Canadians after having just bailed them at at an exorbitant cost to us,(and shit, those fools didn’t even have a recovery plan…and still don’t) should pony up a few more bucks so they may offer deals to their customers. Many people who work at crappy low paying jobs will pay taxes so that they may help the well paid CAW workers keep their jobs.(many of those workers earn $34.00 an hour plus an equivalent amount in benefits compared to the $9-$10 an hour that fast food workers earn…and they get zilch in benefits) It ain’t right that our government would steal public resources  in the form of taxes for the benefit of private enterprises. We’ve been robbed enough.
 I have a store in downtown Woodstock. I sometimes offer deals to my customers…like 10 or sometimes 20 or 30 % off…in order to stimulate customer spending. It is fully expected that when I do that, I will take a hit against my profits, which in turn results in a hit on my personal income. I guess I could beg the government for dollars, but I think that would be stupid as that money would ultimately come from myself. I have to take responsibility for my own actions and the direction of my company. If I fuck it up, I deserve to see it go belly up. 
 It sure would be spectacular to be able to run a multi billion dollar company without having to be responsible for anything.It would be amazing to draw the same income from that company year after year with huge increases in remuneration after having driven it into the ground. 
 No, I will not be taking part in the “scrappage” program…if I did, I’d have to pull the money out of my wallett…just to put it back in their later. That’s as dumb as dumb can get.
 

 
2 Comments

  1. Anonymous
    Posted March 12, 2009 at 10:24 pm | Permalink

    A dumb idea? You’re not looking at it from their point of view. First it was give us money or we’ll have to lay off and close plants. Then the downturn hit and it became bail us out or we’ll go bust. Now they want to take our tax money and give it to those special people who want to buy their cars.

    How long will it be before they are making more money by raiding our tax dollars than they are manufacturing cars? If this keeps up they will be able to get right out of the car business and just collect our tax dollars while doing nothing. They would just become another government ministry. 🙂

  2. Anonymous
    Posted March 15, 2009 at 4:00 pm | Permalink

    Only employed people shop. The ones with the higer wages spend more in place like say….your store. Stop and think before you type.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

