No Fault Insurance…What A Scam

NO FAULT INSURANCE…DEFINITELY BULLSHIT
But Guaranteed, the Insurance Companies are making Money..tons of it. 
 I’ve come to the conclusion after months of arguing with my insurer, Economical,(the name is a joke…it is not economical to buy their insurance) that no fault insurance is a scam that is setup to enrich insurance companies without taking care of persons who are/were injured as a result of an accident.
 On September 1, my partner, son and I were involved in a rear end collision which resulted in the total destruction of one of my vehicles(a new boat which the insurer sent me a cheque for $933.00 for….I paid about $30,000.00 for it)and  substantial rear end damages to the vehicle we were driving that was towing the boat. The other driver was charged with numerous offences and his vehicle was completely destroyed in the accident.(no accident, the moron just drove right into me at highway speeds)
 As a result of that accident and injuries sustained my partner has been unable to work since September the first, and has been unable to care for our disabled son since that point. Although self-employed persons are permitted to apply for accident benefits, they can only do so using a full years previous sales figures, and at that point the business she worked in had not been operating for a full year.(it was  a month short of the required 12 months)
 So, not only did we burn $29,000.00 for the destroyed boat, we also lose a secondary source of income, and are also forced to pay out extra childcare wages at a rate of $15.00 an hour as my partner can not move about quick enough to take care of our son who has Autism- PDD.  At present this  extra help is costing us $450.000 weekly and the way it looks my partner might be off work for another few months.
 Now get this.
 My partner requires physiotherapy on the leg/knee and ankle that were injured. The insurance company said they would cover some transportation for the first 30 days or so..out of good faith(whatever the hell that means)but now they expect her to walk from near the 401 over to Devonshire Avenue for her therapy appointments which means walking at least 10 km a day on a foot that she cannot fully suport herself on.
They claim that they do not have to cover her transportation to and from those appointments. Frankly i think it is bullshit…we didn’t have to attend any appointments until after the idiot smashed into us. 
 They say that I have to take time off of work to drive her there and drive her home…which would reduce my income even more by forcing me to take time off of work.
 So my question is this, if these insurers do not have to cover anything, why on earth should anyone have to buy their insurance? To me, it is a scam…bigger than a Ponzi scheme.
8 Comments

  1. Anonymous
    Posted January 9, 2009 at 12:25 pm | Permalink

    “why on earth should anyone have to buy their insurance?”

    Because the government requires you to pay for insurance. It’s the law.

    Unfortunately there is no law that says the insurance company has to pay up if you have an accident.

    You don’t actually think the government is working for you do you?

    I was insured by Economical some years ago. I dumped them because their rates were higher than the competition. It appears that I’m lucky I didn’t have an accident.

    Remember that name folks. Economical. If you’re insured with them it might be time to shop for another insurer …or another government.

  2. Oemissions
    Posted January 9, 2009 at 7:49 pm | Permalink

    My small motorhome was stolen in Vancouver. The thieves crashed into 2 automobiles.
    A policeman reported that he didnot think it was stolen. I had let my daughter have it for a few days. I was miles away. ICBC refused to pay, and charged me with breach of contract because it wasnot supposed to be in Vancouver. What?? Its a motorhome. The rigamarole I was put through was horrendous.At the end of 3 months and several calls to Obudsmen, UVIC Law Centre and my threat to a supervisor that I was taking this story to every MLA in the province they fired off a cheque for total loss of my vehichle due to theft and paid the other parties.It pays to seriously complain.

  3. ml johnstone
    Posted January 9, 2009 at 7:49 pm | Permalink

    My small motorhome was stolen in Vancouver. The thieves crashed into 2 automobiles.
    A policeman reported that he didnot think it was stolen. I had let my daughter have it for a few days. I was miles away. ICBC refused to pay, and charged me with breach of contract because it wasnot supposed to be in Vancouver. What?? Its a motorhome. The rigamarole I was put through was horrendous.At the end of 3 months and several calls to Obudsmen, UVIC Law Centre and my threat to a supervisor that I was taking this story to every MLA in the province they fired off a cheque for total loss of my vehichle due to theft and paid the other parties.It pays to seriously complain.

  4. ml johnstone
    Posted January 9, 2009 at 7:49 pm | Permalink

    My small motorhome was stolen in Vancouver. The thieves crashed into 2 automobiles.
    A policeman reported that he didnot think it was stolen. I had let my daughter have it for a few days. I was miles away. ICBC refused to pay, and charged me with breach of contract because it wasnot supposed to be in Vancouver. What?? Its a motorhome. The rigamarole I was put through was horrendous.At the end of 3 months and several calls to Obudsmen, UVIC Law Centre and my threat to a supervisor that I was taking this story to every MLA in the province they fired off a cheque for total loss of my vehichle due to theft and paid the other parties.It pays to seriously complain.

  5. Anonymous
    Posted January 9, 2009 at 7:56 pm | Permalink

    Insurance Policies are contracts that are designed to only Indemnify against Bodily Injury or Property Damage (amongst other things if requested or required) subject to the terms of the Contract.

    This is a fundamental fact about Insurance that I suggest you come to terms with. Prior to complaining about denial of a claim I would propose that you read your contract and determine what coverage you actually have. The fact that you submit a claim resulting from an incident does not mean that you are entitled to a payment from your Insurer. Payment will be made according to the Contract that you have entered. False expectations about coverages do not mean that the Insurer is acting in a Malicious way. Your situation is unfortunate but it does not necessarily have anything to do with the Insurer.

    Insurance Policies in Canada are written in “Clear Language” designed to be easily understandable by the “Average” Person with no specific advantage or Specific Knowledge of Insurance. Automobile Forms must be approved by the appropriate Government Authority before Insurers can use them. There are only a few standard form allowed for various reasons including protection of the public.

    Coverage for your Boat in this case would likely of come from your Home Owners Policy not your Auto Policy. If you did not have coverage for your Boat on your Home Owners policy then again it is unfortunate that this incident occurred, but not the Insurer’s fault that you did not have the proper coverage for your own possessions.

    The Government legislates minimum amounts of certain coverages for Automobile insurance as it is in the public interest. It would be chaos if this was not the case as the vast majority of individuals could not afford to pay for damage or bodily injury to Third Parties that they personally caused or damage or bodily injury that has occurred to themselves. Amounts above these legislated minimums is optional. No one is forcing you. The government in this case actually IS working for you. For those who cannot swallow paying a Non-Government Insurer I suggest you move to British Columbia, Saskatchewan or Manitoba.

    On the Insurers side, they are legislated to create funds to pay for bodily injury and property damages that result when drivers cannot be identified. Aka in hit and run cases. This means that coverage may be available even to people who have NO INSURANCE aka a pedestrian who does not own a car. Another case of the government working for you.

    Contrary to your statement regarding Insurers making “tons of money” most General Insurance Markets including Economical, ING, Aviva, Axa, have NOT been making ANY MONEY over the past 3 years. During this time soft market conditions have prevailed meaning it has been a buyer’s market resulting in lower premiums that are not completely offsetting claims and operating costs. Therefore these General Markets have infact been LOSING money in recent years.

    It is of course your perogative to be insured with whoever you want. Insurers are required to submit rates to the Government for the next year in advance. In Personal insurance no deviation from these rates is possible. Since this is the case it is quite simple to determine which insurer has the best price, but like anything else it is buyer beware with regards to the quality of service that you will obtain. There is nothing more deviant about the insurance industry as compared to any other industry.

  6. Anonymous
    Posted January 9, 2009 at 9:43 pm | Permalink

    I’m buying it. The poor insurance companies are the victims and the government has our best interests at heart.

    This guy is obviously an insurance salesman or works for the government.

  7. Anonymous
    Posted January 9, 2009 at 11:24 pm | Permalink

    Or their tired of hearing people whine about not getting money they were never entitled to… what are you NDP?

  8. jim bender
    Posted January 10, 2009 at 12:01 pm | Permalink

    Actually, I had a policy on the boat through Premier Marine.
    Economical covered the boat trailer…partly,as it was attached to the vehicle and Premier sent me a cheque for $933.00 for a $30,000.00 boat.
    I sent the boat to scrap. There was no way I was ever getting back into something that had been smashed in a highway impact at hi-speeds.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

