Harper Announces Major Corporate Welfare Plan For Ford

IN THE SPIRIT OF PAST GOVERNMENTS’ LARGESSE, HARPER SENDS A FAT WELFARE CHEQUE TO FORD
I am a businessman. I operate a wholesale import/export/retail business that has had its’ up and downs. We employ several people, and would likely employ more if it was sound to do so.
I like to think that I am a good steward of my company, and I guess I ought to be as I am the one that knows my business best.(Okay, my partner/spouse would argue about that statement.) I know that in bad times the only thing that one can do is to tighten their belts, and to work a little harder to ensure that my business survives. If I must take a pay cut in order to do that than I must. If the survival of the business means not hiring new additional people than i suppose that I will just have to wait until times get better to do those hirings….besides, why hire a bunch of people that I cannot afford to pay?
The Ford Motor Company is suffering. Ford cannot compete with the current business climate and has refused to give up on its’ old school technology.
It does not make financial sense to hand over money to a company that cannot compete, over pays its’ top executives, and is not able to produce a vehicle that Canadians are willing to buy. You see, there must be a market for whatever one is trying to sell, and in this case there just isn’t. Big gas guzzling trucks have gone the way of the Dodo bird and they aren’t coming back.
The Ford Motor Company of Canada is expected to be on the recieving list today for a big fat corporate welfare cheque. Industry minister Jim Prentice and Stephen Harper are expected to attempt the propping up of this feeble company with another bushel of Canadian taxpayers money in the hopes of luring Ford into re-opening their mothballed Windsor Essex truck plant that died last year after fuel prices went sky high.
Although I feel some sadness for the people who have lost their jobs as there were more than 900 of them and the impact of such a massive job loss is certain to be devastating to any community, I also feel no degree of remorse for seeing FMC end up down the tubes as they were too slow to get off the mark and failed to lead in the revolution of green energy efficient vehicles. In other words, this stodgy old company was just not capable of bringing itself up to modern day standards and as a result permitted itself to be run into the ground.
There is no excuse for bad management…but a worse scenario is a government handing over money to a company that cannot manage its’ affairs or a company that is unwilling to make changes from the top down in order to make itself better. We might as well just stick the cash in a box and bury…the return on investment will be about the same.
Ford should be left to go it on its’ own…just as I and many small businessmen have been left to do. I am a firm believer that bankruptcy is good for the economy in some ways as it helps to weed out the bad managers and the companies that cannot compete.
It shouldn’t take a government welfare cheque to save them. If Fords’ executives truly believed in their company and its’ ability to move forward, they would have invested in Ford themselves.
Stephen Harper went to Ottawa to get rid of this government largesse but now he only sustains it. I guess he likes Ottawa and its’ misspending ways more than he’s telling us.
2 Comments

  1. Anonymous
    Posted September 4, 2008 at 10:39 am | Permalink

    “Quite frankly, politicians aren’t very good at picking business winners and losers,”
    -Jim Flaherty

  2. Anonymous
    Posted September 7, 2008 at 9:02 pm | Permalink

    “Quite frankly, politicians aren’t very good at picking business winners and losers,”
    -Jim Flaherty

    Oh, I don’t know about that. The ones with insider trading info seem to be doing alright.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

